Network Task Force

The Network Task Force (NTF), reporting to the JUCC Steering Committee, is responsible for the operation and technical management of the HARNET (Hong Kong Academic and Research Network) and its connections to Internet, local Internet exchange and research networks. The NTF closely monitors the performance of the HARNET/Internet infrastructure and ensuring non-interrupted network services.

The NTF is entrusted to leverage HARNET and use it as a shared platform more effectively for JUCC members. Members will discuss and propose network improvement plans, advise on usage policy and coordinate joint efforts in all network related issues.


Membership of NTF comprises representatives from all JUCC Full Members. JUCC Affiliate Members connecting to HARNET are also invited to join as observers. Dr Waiman Cheung of Lingnan University is appointed as Chairman of the NTF since August 2021.

Institution Representatives
Appointed Members
The University of Hong Kong

Ms Katherine Kwok (Deputy Chairman)
Mr Tong Lai
Mr Ronald Leung
Mr Tony Wan

The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Mr K W Pong (HARNET Technical Support)
Mr Wing Lai

The Hong Kong Polytechnic University Mr Patrick Tsui
Mr S K Hau 
Mr Andrew Wong
Mr Benco Tang
City University of Hong Kong Mr Cyril Ha
Mr Alex Lam
Ms Kat Lau
Mr S K Tsui
Hong Kong Baptist University Mr Calvin Ho
Mr Eric Cheung
Mr Johnny Au-Yeung
Mr Morris Lee
The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Mr C S Wong
Mr Steve Lee Man Kit
Mr Woo Siu Hin
Mr Steven Wong
Lingnan University Dr Waiman Cheung (Chairman)
Mr Ray Fung
Mr Wong Kit Pui
Mr Max Yiu
The Education University of Hong Kong Mr T K Kwan
Mr Ryan Chan
Mr Fred Pang
Hong Kong Metropolitan University Mr Michael Lo
Mr Derek Pong
Vocational Training Council Mr Ringo Chan

The Network Task Force undertakes the responsibility of overlooking the following projects: